A Century of Innovation

Ansell is one of the few companies in the hand protection industry that can trace its history back 100 years, celebrating a century of leadership and product innovations.  The Ansell story spans the globe, bringing together companies and technologies to meet specific personal protective equipment needs within a wide range of industries.

Although Ansell has long been recognized for its high quality gloves and apparel, the company's history dates back to 1888 when John Boyd Dunlop, a prosperous, Scottish-born veterinary surgeon, invented the pneumatic bicycle tire in Belfast, Ireland.  A group of Irish businessmen recognized the product's potential and worked with Dunlop to form a syndicate to launch  "The Dunlop Pneumatic Tyre Company."

With bicycles the most popular form of transport and cycle racing the most popular sport, the pneumatic tire was an unqualified success.  Yet, in 1899, the Dunlop Company faced financial difficulties and decided to sell its overseas holdings.  A Canadian syndicate purchased the Australian interests and launched  "The Dunlop Pneumatic Tyre Company of Australia," an Australian company.

Six years later, in 1905, the company made the first of many acquisitions by purchasing its main rival, the Barnet Glass Rubber Company.  While examining the two companies' product lines, the decision was made to discontinue condom production and the machinery was discarded.

Eric Ansell, a Dunlop employee, took the machinery and set up his own company, The Ansell Rubber Company, in Melbourne, Australia, manufacturing toy balloons and condoms.  The rest is history as Ansell made strategic acquisitions and expansions and invested in the research and development necessary to bring a number of industry "firsts" to market, earning the company its reputation as the industry innovator and largest manufacturer of protective gloves and clothing in the world.

Un siècle d'innovation

Ansell est une des rares compagnies dans l'industrie des vêtements de protection possédant plus de 100 ans d'histoire, un siècle de leadership et d'innovations de produits.  L'histoire d'Ansell est mondiale, réunissant des compagnies et des technologies qui satisfont les besoins spécifiques d’un large éventail d'industries.

Bien qu'Ansell soit depuis longtemps renommée pour ses gants et ses vêtements de protection de haute qualité, l'historique de la compagnie date de 1888 alors que John Boyd Dunlop, un chirurgien vétérinaire prospère, né en Écosse, inventa le pneu de bicyclette à Belfast, Irlande.  Des hommes d'affaires irlandais ont reconnu le potentiel du produit et ont formé, avec Dunlop, un syndicat pour lancer la Dunlop Pneumatic Tyre Company.

Comme les bicyclettes étaient le moyen de transport le plus populaire et les courses de bicyclettes le sport le plus populaire, le pneu obtint un succès formidable.  Cependant, en 1899, la Dunlop Company subit des difficultés financières et décide de vendre ses investissements outre-mer.  Un syndicat canadien acheta les intérêts australiens et fonda The Dunlop Pneumatic Tyre.

Six ans plus tard, en 1905, la compagnie effectua la première d’une série de nombreuses acquisitions, en achetant son principal rival, la Barnet Glass Rubber Company.  En étudiant les lignes de produits des deux compagnies, la décision fut prise de cesser la production des condoms et la machinerie fut mise au rancart.

Eric Ansell, un employé de Dunlop, reprit la machinerie pour établir sa propre compagnie, The Ansell Rubber Company à Melbourne, Australie, pour fabriquer des ballons et des condoms.  La suite est connue; Ansell a effectué des acquisitions et des expansions stratégiques et investi dans la recherche et le développement et établi ainsi plusieurs "premières" dans l'industrie, méritant à sa compagnie la réputation d'innovateur dans l'industrie et du plus grand manufacturier de gants et vêtements de protection au monde.