The year was 1933 when Edward Montgomery began experimenting with fabric gloves in an attempt to coat them with rubber to extend their wear.  Montgomery conducted the first experiments in his garage, where he applied tire tube repair rubber to the palms of ordinary canvas gloves and vulcanized them on a hot plate.  This soon led to the more economical process of dipping gloves in latex rubber.

In 1934, Montgomery moved his glove production operation to an old foundry building, with the Edmont Manufacturing Company officially incorporated a year later.  Early production equipment included a few machines to sew the glove liners, wood forms for stretching the liners for dipping, a tank for the rubber latex and a handmade curing oven.

As demand for Edmont gloves grew, the company moved to Coshocton, Ohio, in 1951, where it became known for producing coated gloves of superior quality and value.  Edmont gloves were used in many industries for thousands of different jobs requiring hand protection.  Specialized coatings were developed using natural rubber, synthetic rubber and vinyl plastic.

When Becton, Dickinson and Company, a leading U.S. healthcare corporation, acquired Edmont in 1966, Edmont was recognized as the largest manufacturer of coated gloves.  Pacific Dunlop, Ltd. acquired the Edmont Division in 1989, merging it with the Ansell International Industrial division to create Ansell Edmont Industrial.

C'était en 1933; Edward Montgomery commençait à expérimenter avec les gants en tissu pour tenter de les enduire de latex et accroître leur durée.  Montgomery a effectué ses premières expériences dans son garage, où il a appliqué du latex, servant à la réparation des chambres à air de pneus, sur la paume des gants en toile et les a vulcanisés sur une plaque chauffante.  Ce qui mena rapidement au procédé, plus économique, de trempage des gants dans du latex de caoutchouc.

En 1934, Montgomery déplace ses opérations de production de gants dans une ancienne fonderie, et un an plus tard, la Edmont Manufacturing Company s'incorpore officiellement.  Au début, les équipements de production incluent quelques machines à coudre les doublures de gants, des formes en bois pour étirer les doublures pour le trempage, un réservoir pour le latex de caoutchouc et un four à vulcaniser, fait main.

Comme la demande pour les gants Edmont croît, la compagnie déménage à Coshocton, Ohio, en 1951, où elle se fait connaître comme manufacturière de gants enduits et de qualité supérieure.  Les gants Edmont étaient utilisés dans plusieurs industries pour des milliers de tâches requérant une protection des mains.  Des enduits spécialisés furent élaborés avec du caoutchouc naturel, du caoutchouc synthétique et du vinyle.

Lorsque Becton, Dickinson and Company, un chef de file en soins de la santé aux États-Unis, a acheté Edmont en 1966, Edmont fut reconnu comme le plus grand manufacturier de gants enduits.  Pacific Dunlop Ltd. a acquis la division Edmont en 1989, la fusionnant avec la division industrielle d'Ansell International  afin de créer Ansell Edmont Industrial.